Making a fighter: wat do?

Okies, so Ive been getting kinda curious about trying to make a fighter recently. Nothing fancy, just kinda getting a feel for making fighting games. But, I’m not sure what program is best to start working with.

Is MUGEN a good engine to use, or is the 2D fighter maker series better to use? Or are there other products that work even better? I’m not sure what is best, so any advice will be appreciated.

If this topic has been covered elsewhere, just let me know and I’ll delete this thread.

Would you be making your own art?

Yes. This would be of my own creation, no stereotypical MUGEN copy pasta

There are a few people making their own engines on this board I believe. Do you have a portfolio of your work?

[media=youtube]_nCdcefcorc[/media] i’m a programmer and i got this, can you animate?

No, I’m just in the preparation stage at the moment. I want to dick around with something good for a while to get my bearings, and then really hunker down and start designing something, just as a kinda pet project.

Edit. @anotak. Well, no. I’m going to be taking animation classes and experimenting on my own at school, but right now I have little to no experience. However I am very much interested in learning, so I could definitely learn to animate that’s what I need to know.

Hone your animation skills, keep learning, take crappy jobs, anything to keep you going and learn. In the meantime, try to get in contact with people who are working in/studying game design. Don’t expect to work on anything substantial for at least 10 years. Use that time wisely. Good luck.