Making a game~! =D

Hey guys - I’m making a game, and was wondering what kind of mechanics you guys would go for - ideally people on this forum would play it for me once it gets done. =)

The details:

• This game is 2D. I’m not using lame sprite recolors or anything of the sort. Stuff will be drawn from scratch. I’m an animation student, so I actually know what I’m doing.

• No tag team stuff. One thing at a time please. =)

• Probably won’t be weapon based. Hand to hand stuff is just easier to animate/worry about.

• Netplay: Nice, but only if I can find some way to do it. I’m not a coder.

Questions:

• Any particular stuff you guys like? I was thinking parries or something? (Not like 3S, more like Akatsuki Blitzkampf, where you can whiff them/mess up)

• Any ideas what I could use for an engine? Fighter Maker documentation is sparse, but Mugen chars mean someone will steal my work and host it on a website in Brazil.

All suggestions welcome. This game won’t be done for a while. I’ll be doing almost everything myself, so don’t expect it within a month or something silly like that. (Besides, school’s not over yet!)

if your not a coder…might i ask how you plan on making it?
even tho mugen has a simplified engine, it still requires you to write code.

just start off with a simple character, and if it goes well, then start doin more characters, and if that goes well that you can consider making a whole game.

As long as the basic system is stable, everything else will fall into place. I think it would be a good idea to give character very unique functions that will differ from character to character so that they all don’t play too similar to one another. Universal movements that I’d consider would be a taunt, a throw, and a dodge function.