Marvel Rotation

MARVEL ROTATION
Taking Local Play for a Ride

Hey, guys! I’m new to Shoryuken, but I’ve been playing UMvC3 here and there over the last eight months. I’m not very good, but I have fun playing and improving and I hope to reach a level of competence in the future.

On the side, I’ve written a little Java application, though it’s still a work in progress, that adds something to the game that I felt was missing since the beginning. As a multiplayer game going online, it can be fairly fun, but I like the idea of EXP, gold, items, the like… basically turning UMvC3 into a more CoD online-style game, without comprising anything about the game itself; these elements come about as a result of your skill in the game and should not affect it in any way, for that would be much too detracting. Rather, they embellish the experience. This game is written for local play in mind and would at this point not be practical for online play, unless this online play were well-structured and communicative.

The game I’ve created is called Marvel Rotation. You run it on your computer and can play with any number of real human players or CPUs and is used as a tool alongside Marvel for the Xbox or PS3 (or Vita). I’ve tried to make the interface very easy to use, but I’ll explain the rules and the gist of everything here. Also note that you will need Java to run the game, which you can download from www.java.com.

BASIC RULES

The game starts with the user entering how many players will be participating. The games take place in a rotation-style format; Player A goes against Player B… whoever wins goes on to face Player C and so forth, depending on the amount. It can be even just two players.