Mastery of a Character

I’ve been here a while, and I learned just as much as a could here, but I have a few quick questions about mastery.

1. When do you know if you mastered a character?

2. Why are some characters harder to master than others?

3. Dhalsim, Blanka, Honda, El Fuerte. Organize these in the order of hardest to master to easiest. Also give tips to help me master them.

Thanks for your input.

1. When nobody in the world can defeat you.

2. Because they play differently. Naturally some are going to require more difficult executions, more strict timing, etc.

1. order of hardest to easiest to master

el fuerte
dhalsim
honda
blanka

For the use of the word master, thats a great response.

Its my experience that you can never truly master any character when it comes to fighting games. Simply because the word master means you have transcended past any flaws you might have in that character.

I am rather new to competitive play so this is merely my take on things, but I personally find there is no way to really tell if you have become amazingly good at a character. Its merely how you feel on the subject. Every player will have some flaw in their game, and if you are playing to get as close as you can to that master you will try and turn that weakness into a strength. Interestingly enough I believe having an understanding of your enemy (the more detailed the better), then the better you will know your own character. So with that in mind the only way to “master a character” will be to have “mastered all characters.” But by now we have reached a full circle on the question.

cant help ya on the which characters are more difficult question. I am only decent with Ken and Zangief.

No it doesn’t mean you’re unbeatable. I think it just means that you can go even with the top players (in japan) with a character. If you can do that, you’ve probably figured out everything you need to know.