Match-up Help?

spencer

Most characters on this forum have a thread dedicated to this, but I didn’t see one. Hopefully it wasn’t something obvious that I missed.

Anyway, I’m new to the franchise, genre, and character, but I’m picking up the game fairly well. After watching a lot of Spencer gameplay, I decided to use him as my point character. I can perform a few remedial combos and have recently mastered TK’ing grapples and things like that. My execution is decent, I have a basic understanding of most characters, game mechanics, etc.

One thing that I am having trouble with, though, is fighting against characters like Dante, Vergil, Deadpool, Wolverine, Zero, etc.

Vergil and Dante especially, as all they ever do is flip/teleport around and fish for downward-H knockdowns, attack me from half-screen with normals, etc. I can’t seem to block against them, or punish any of their moves if I manage to. They also have more range and are faster than me.

I know that Vergil is an “unsafe” character, but when I try to attack him after blocking an opening salvo of attacks (if he hasn’t preceded to spam S, H, S, H, S, H over and over and over again to build free meter and keep me sitting there), he just hits me immediately. Dante is essentially the same way with his neverending, multi-hitting combos. Zero, too. I get completely locked down and can’t retaliate. Advancing Guard hasn’t been very successful, either.

I try to grapple around/down, cover myself with assists, and everything to get in on them, but fall victim to the same thing. What am I supposed to do?

Dante is rough… I haven’t played much Vergil but I’ve played some Dante and he is one of the characters I have the most trouble with, although I do have some experience with him.

First of all, are you playing online or offline? Online Dante/Vergil is mostly herpaderp because all the usually unsafe things they do can suddenly become safe.