Mod cheap arcade stick or buy pricey arcade stick

hey im new to shoryuken and i just had a big question to ask. would it be better to buy a cheap stick like a mayflash and mod it or just save my money to buy an good arcade stick off the back

thank you in advance

In general I would avoid modding unless you can simply drop Sanwa parts in. Even then you might not be saving money. The Mayflash in particular is kind of a pain in the ass to mod.

The stick review thread linked in the sticky includes ease to mod in the reviews, if you’re interested.

thanks man ill just buy a madcatz or hori stick

I recommend the Qanba Q4Raf it comes dual modded and has all Sanwa parts it cost around $150 u can get it at focusattack.com or arcadeshock.com

cheap is more expensive in the long run in this case.

thanks i didnt think of it like that

I’d suggest going with a SE or BrawlStick (same case, just different art) and modding it with Sanwa.

If you get a SF4 SE, mod it right away. The knockoff parts are much worse than Sanwas, and very prone to failure.

However, if you get a BrawlStick, give it some use as-is first. Mad Catz’s clones have gotten much better since the early SE sticks, and you may not feel the need to replace them.

If you can find a decent enough deal on parts, the total should only be in the neighborhood of $80-90, and the result is equal if not arguably superior to a TE (note that the top of a TE is completely flat, while the SE/BrawlStick has a slight angle where you would rest your wrists).

I bought a madcatz brawl stick to mod after I finished it came out close to what I paid for my Qanba so yeah I’d say it’s better to pay for one you do nothing 2. Also you won’t void the warranty if u don’t mod it

Edit: although modding it and making it your own is satisfying.

but in some chases is modding needed like you bust the stick or buttons up and have to replace them with new parts unless you have a warranty