Modding my Pelican ps2 Arcade stick with Cthulu/sanwa parts?

Hi Guys, this is my first attempt at modding a stick and I’m very excited indeed!

I have an old pelican ps2 arcade stick laying around (looks exactly like the universal one). And I just put an order in for a MC Cthulu board along with a Sanwa joystick and sanwa 30mm threaded buttons off lizardlick.

I plan on removing the pcb and buttons from the pelican and replacing them with cthulu/sanwa parts.
I know the button holes need to be sanded to 30mm to fit the buttons.
If anyone has done this mod, or a similar one, are there any unforeseen pitfalls I should look out for?

the top panel of the case is a fairly thick (half an inch) piece of wood, my main concern is hoping the Japanese parts will fit.

http://www.talkxbox.com/hardware/plestick.jpg

Yeah uh, JLF’s (going to assume you bought a JLF) are meant to be mounted roughly 1/4" below the surface of the panel, so if you wanna mount a JLF in there you’re gonna need to bust out the router and route into the top panel, also the same for the buttons, the mounting nut won’t even reach the threads on a panel that thick.

Hmm It seems like pretty cheap wood… I’m afraid of it breaking after extended play, should I just replace the entire top panel? If so what would be the best material? 1/4 inch Plexi-glass?

How about 2x 1/8" sheets of plexi so you can sandwich your own custom art in between? I think that would be a great idea, plus with plexiglass you will be able to give the Pelican stick a proper Japanese button and stick layout or whatever layout you prefer.

But how would you replace the whole panel though? From looking at pics of the insides it looks like the case is all glued together.

That sounds like a great Idea! Now to find a plexi glass place that will cut 30mm holes and stuff…

The top panel is held together with L shaped metal strips that have 2 screws. (i forget what they’re called).