Modding SF4 SE to be more like TE?

Hey All, so im getting my first stick this week or next week. Its the SF4 FightStick SE, only because I dont have the 150bucks to get the TE unfortunately.

I’m interested in doing two things with my SE stick:

1.) Modding it with high quality Japanese parts, if possible the same buttons/stick as the TE stick.

and.

2.) Visual mods. I’d like to change the art on the face of the stick, as well as possibly color the entire case (i.e.: sides and the back.).

I read the stickies about moding the sticks and i think im well capable of doing what i need to do. Replacing the buttons should be easy, replacing the stick should be no problem. I have some limited experience with soldering and working with simple electronics, and i’m pretty familiar with the processes involved in stick modding.

I have 2 questions about the visual mods on the SE stick. Firstly, ive heard that it is much easier to mod the image on the TE stick, because you can just print out your image and cut some sheet plastic to fit on top of the image. How would one go about doing this on the SE stick? Also, how difficult would it be to paint the sides and back of the stick? (obviously i would need to remove the buttons/stick/PCBs, but is there a certain type of paint i would need to use or what?)

One more thing, how much money (USD) would i be looking at in order to upgrade the SE stick to have TE-quality parts?

Thanks guys. =) Hopefully this thread will be of use to others who are too cheap to get the TE stick. :rofl:

Thanks for the info. I’m really into SF but have only been playing for about a a year and a half now. I was going to buy a stick back when the SC4 sticks came out but i decided to wait for SF4.