Motivations of Tournament Organizers

I have to admit I am pretty new to the fight scene, I honestly didn’t know there existed a cohesive group of individuals anywhere that played to get better at fighting games, but I have always appreciated fighters. So I have only been to one tournament, in the two months or so that I have been in the scene.

The tournament I did go to not too long ago was organized and put on by a good friend of mine within the scene and it went down without a hitch, was great fun, and good experience. He held the tournament for the love of the game and to help bring together our small amount of players in my area, not to make money; which I am getting to.

The point of this thread being, what is the usual motivation of tournament organizers? Is it for the love of the game, and competition first or to make money?

I ask this because I am going to a tournament this weekend, where I have seen the organizer saying he got the venue for free, and yet he is still charging a venue fee. I will still go but this guy does not exactly have the best reputation to begin with. He comes off as shady to me because he is running a CoD tournament the same day in the same venue and he asked my girlfriend to do it because she plays CoD. She has never been to a CoD tournament though. Odd IMO.

Not only that he asked her to get 6 HDMI cables from Amazon because she said to another friend on Facebook she could order him one and has Amazon Prime, as an offer to him.

So basically the gist of this post is that, the guy who has the venue is charging a venue fee for a free venue, expecting everyone else to bring setups, and is not even going to run the tournament. That apparently got relegated to the friend I am not mentioning.

So do most tournament organizers just set out to make money or are people in this business for competition and the love of the game? This just all seems suspect to me.