[MTUP] Balrog

fei-long

Specific thread for the Balrog match-up.
Match-up difficulty FeiLong 4 - 6 Balrog

Meaty c.MK is delicious.

EDIT: I’ve been trying this out more, it’s a good thing to know, but you gotta use it carefully cause it loses to EX punches and cause Fei can’t cancel into another move. Only really do if boxer doesnt have EX or your predicting a Headbutt. Getting hit by an ultra is not fun either.

How should fei approach a holed up boxer? throws are almost useless cause of boxer’s jabs.

Pasted from the “tiers” thread:

I’m no expert in the Balrog matchup, but I’ve found that it gets a million times easier if you can get him in the corner and keep him there. He can’t walk backwards so Fei’s pokes won’t miss, and will outreach most of his options. Jab is tricky because it’s so fast and gives so much advantage, but at least you can stay outside of jab range and try to chip away with the occasional overhead, or tenshin attempt. Balrog’s sweep is another problem, but c.hp and c.mk should outreach it. If you decide to start focusing, try to be aware of how long he’s been charging so that you don’t eat an armor break. C.mk, c.mp and c.hp stop his dashes, but be careful of super armor and TAP’s startup invincibility. I also think that most of his dashes are unsafe on block from the range you’ll be fighting at, so if you block one, c.lp/s. lp xx rekka is your buddy.

If he jumps, flame kick or standing roundhouse depending on the timing and range. Watch for headbutts and punish hard on block or whiff. Try to punish whiffs with a single jab rekka from safe range, but don’t get too greedy or you might eat a headbutt. Being able to hit confirm into the next two will really help here.