MvC3 - How do you move around in the air so freely?

Hi guys, so im new to mvc3 and wow is it completely diff to any fighter ive played! i have absolutely no idea about the game, even though ive been playing SF all my life, i didn’t even know how to do a hyper combo in this one until i read the manual haha

so here’s my question, how do you guys move so freely in the air? in the vids i see, people are flying round the air in all directions and manage to evade projectiles.

I play my brother and we’re both terrible at the game, but when he chooses arthur, it’s a guaranteed OCV. the spears, the spinning sword and the yellow orb thing are too much for me. I can’t manouver my characters in the air past his projectiles.

so what do you do? how do you do it?

I can jump and dash in the air, but i just fall right into the barrage of spears. ive tried walking up, blocking, walking up, blocking, but the chip damage and push back dont make this viable.

any help?

What characters are you playing, it will help us give you character specific tips to improve your game.

Sorry, I should have mentioned in the OP.

To be honest i dont really play anyone, i just play random 3 and just see what I can do. But, i guess i like ryu, wolverine and chun li, only because they’re kinda easy to play and to combo their hypers in.

Like I said, if im on one end of the screen, my brother is just non stop barraging me with projectiles as arthur and i can never jump over them to reach him. it’s guaranteed OCV.

Pick an assist or character with a decent beam to power through the projectiles. Iron Man, Doom, and Sentinel come to mind.

If not that, then pick someone with a teleport to completely negate the zoning game, like Deadpool, Dormammu, or Dante.

Barring that, you can also use flight mode to evade a lot of the projectiles, since the only thing that Arthur has that can combat fliers is Golden Armor’ed crossbow bolts, to a certain extent.