MVSC2 Joystick Setup/Modification Help

This beginning paragraph is just a little history of my experience with MVSC2 my actual questions can be found right after the paragraph if you don’t like reading a box of text =D

I’ve been playing MVSC2 ever since it came out in 2002, i started off playing at the arcade and got hooked almost immediately, of course the game just came out and nobody knew any of the insane combos that we see today but the game was just so ecstatic, anyways… moving on, i then purchased it for the ps2 right when it came out and noticed how much control and flexibility i had on the ps2 controllers opposed to the arcade joysticks, the one thing i loved most about it was the LP+HP & LK+HK controller inputs (the same inputs that are now removed from the PS3/360 version of the game) So I played the game for… i would say 5 years straight with my brother and we became very very good at the game, not Justin Wong or Sanford good but pretty damn close, we live in boston and were both pretty young so we didn’t know anything about tournaments or anything like that (not that there were any around where we lived). We stopped playing about 2-3 years ago due to me going to college. When i heard that it was coming out for the ps3 i was gushing with excitement and couldn’t wait to get a hold of the demo. The demo finally came out and i started playing only to find out that they stripped the LP+HP & LK+HK controller inputs, i figured maybe the game wasn’t finished porting and they’ll put it in the final release of the game, sadly enough when the game was released nothing had changed. I bared the loss and tried to adjust to the new settings but it was extremely hard, i found myself playing the game with the ps2 controller like it was a fightstick but it just wasn’t the same. So I decided to get the MVSC2 TE Fightstick so enough about me let me jump right into the questions i have to modify this piece of art!