My 1st tournament is coming up! Suggestions?

gouken

Quick story, If ya don’t wanna read it, no biggy =P

And here is how it looks. I started playing Street Fighter when I was oh… maybe 6 years old. My brother would bang me up for a few hours, being 12 years older. I would just sit there, playing. After a few days I mastered the hadouken! But I still had to mash to get the shoryuken off.

When I was about 12 maybe 13 I started competing in Super Smash Bros. Tournaments, being in buffalo NY, those were the only tournaments close enough for me to compete in. Never have I won a tournament in SSB.

After my Smash Brothers frenzy, I picked up Street Fighter Anniversary edition… Which had Street Fighter 3 : Third Strike on it… And I just fell in love. I felt the parry system to be awesomely perfect for someone like me. And I went on to play years of Alex and Ryu.

When I was about 15-16 I saw my first video of Daigo. The Justin Wong comeback of his. I was amazed! Now before this, I thought I was some kickass player “Man, I’m the shit” Nah, I was just playing average people. After a while I had no room to improve, since I had little to no competition and low variance in play styles (Having growing up with all my opponents)

At 17 I picked up SFIV with my brother, I remember it clearly! (NO not cause I’m only a year older, cause it was the shit!) We get home from waking up early and snagging his copy (Got home around 10 am) Invited all our oldschool players over and just started going at it!

The SF2 staff was destroying me. Blanka Vega Zangief E.Honda and Bison especially. I wasn’t used to them, and for some reason, I kept trying to parry everything! (I was using ryu) None of us had tried the hard trials, gone into training mode or anything like that. We all started fresh (With some peaks at the command list)