My first time making a stick....and IT'S A BIG ONE! (COMPLETE..weill almost)

UPDATE

After graduating and finally having some off time to do a hobby, I finally decided to try to make a fightstick for two. I’ve been wanting to do this for quite some time, but I was low on cash and busy with school…still low on cash, but oh well. Anyways, I’ve been reading through the forums and have looked through various threads.

Got a lot of info from Toodles, bomberman, Slagcoin, the MDF mirror paint thread, and the woodworkers thread. Finally decided to freestyle the design with MDF. Now I have no experience with working with wood, just learned from reading stuff from other stick builders and websites. I’ve been working on this stick for about 2-3 weeks give or take inbetween my last week of school. So here’s what I got so far…

By the way…sorry for some blurry pics. You can tell which ones are from my phone…

Here’s the material I started with, got more MDF when I needed it…

Put things together using wood glue and clamps…as you can see, I needed more clamps but didn’t have any, so I used my good ol’ kettlebells

The first couple shots, I used the “plastic putty.” Then the more white past is the spackle…

As you can tell from the last pic…I’ve been using a handsaw for the cuts, so cuts weren’t perfect and had some gaps…good ol’ spackle

Oh yeah, I forgot to take pics, but I used dowels and drilled hols for a tighter, secure connection between boards…

Now that the base is set, I need to add some borders to lay the plexiglass in for the artwork…

After all of that set in, I wanted to round the edges, but don’t have money…more importantly space for a router station because my garage is packed. So I used a block plane to do the edges. This is probably the only thing I remember how to do from woodshop class back in 6th grade, aside from learning “righty-tighty, left-loosey” for screws and clamps. Turned out better than I though, and of course, I tried it on a random piece of MDF.