MY STICK BROKE, any advice?

Hi guys. First time poster.

I have the Street Fighter 4 tournament edition stick. I was practicing on Street Fighter X Tekken just now (trying to get my EWGF down) and then suddenly my stick stops working. The buttons all work fine, but the control stick doesn’t work in any direction. Does anyone have any advice for me on how to possibly fix this stick or perhaps replace the pieces? (Is that even possible?)

I’m a noob in everyway, the game, modding sticks etc etc.

Any help would be really appreciated! Thanks guys.

It’s going to be tough if you’ve never touched/seen/disassembled your stick before. This is one of those situations where if you had, the problem might be easy to solve. May be something as simple as a disconnected harness, but unless you’re willing to dive in there and look, you won’t be able to know.

I look at it this way: The stick is useless to you now, so treat it as a dead stick. That way you won’t feel scared about opening it up and looking around. If you accept that it’s broken and look at it like you have “nothing left to lose” you can open it up, take pictures, post them here and get some expert opinions. Chances are even if something magical happens and your stick works the next time you plug it in for no reason, this will happen again down the road.

Long story short: OPEN IT UP! =)

After that, use your eyes, see if anything’s obviously disconnected etc. Then, use your nose… I mean literally, use your nose… smell for any “burning plastic” kind of smell, may be faint. I’m just guessing you don’t have a mutlimeter lying around so that’s going to be about the extent of what you can test, but it will provide a very important experience of physically getting inside your first stick.

Could be that the wiring harness has come loose and just needs reconnecting. Also check you haven’t accidently switched the stick mode to LS or RS.