Need Help On Countering Some Moves In KOF 2002/Beating Some Arrogant Loser Too

Hey all. I’m back in the forums for some advice. I used to come here for MVC2 advice, and all the advice given really worked and I transformed from a total newbie to someone who at least knows how to do the Magneto ROM infinite now. You all know your shit, so this is the only place I’d ask for serious arcading help. So here goes:

I used to be an avid KOF player, during 98 and 99. Haven’t touched it since 2000 came out. Then in my local arcade the other day, they had KOF 2002 PLUS. The one where one hit or being hit or doing a special move gives you an instant super bar… so that means the game is very fast paced and that also means you could get stuck in a huge number of inifites and confront the occasional CD-counter-turtler and Kula/K9999 super spammers. I thought the Max combo’s were neat… so I decided to give it a try.

I still have my old touch… but I’m completely new to the world of Max modes/weird cancelling and of course not forgetting HDSMs!

So first of all, how do I counter Choi’s HDSM? The one where he simply slashes randomly all over the screen, that I don’t seem to be able to avoid. I see some people doing anti-air, and others spamming crouching jab, but they seem to be able to counter it by luck… not by real knowledge. I was hoping some of you might help me with this.

Also, there’s this dude that always plays there… and he’s only decent… not a real pro. He knows how to do most of the combo’s in Max mode though. His poking is good too. And he’s fast. Other than that… he doesn’t have much variety… and that makes him a victim to any grappler’s mindgames. Now having a decent player beat me up all the time isn’t bad at all… in fact its good to help me improve, BUT…