Need help vs Akuma and the game in general

makoto

Hi, i’m pretty new to the 3s scene and i’m interested in learning the game. i know how to play cvs2 and ST so i have the SF basics down.

i’m thinking of pickin up makoto since she looks like a fun character to play. i’ve been using her for like 3 days and so far i’m having trouble vs Akuma.

first off, whats the best way to get in on him? air fireballs, air hurricane kicks, ground fireballs and dps are discouraging me on getting in on him.

also his c.mk and c.rh makes it hard for me to dash in on him or poke him in general.

another problem i have is getting him off of me. demon flips, demon slide and dive kicks are extremely hard to stop. best thing i can do is dash out of the way or a lucky fuikage.

i also find it hard to keep pressure on him, especially after a knockdown due to his dp and c.mks.

any help would be appreciated. thanks.

btw, how do you do her kara moves and how benificial are they?

ur prolly playing CPU Akuma, he can be a bitch, but remember this:

parry his divekicks helps.
being higher then him when he jumps helps (meaning you should superjump)
makoto’s dash is the fast there is, try to get onher his fireballs and punish

stuff like that =)

and use SA2 on him, one grab=death

Try to tag him with SAII after he throws an air fireball. There is enough recovery to get him after he lands.

I think it is a tough match up if you arent good at landing SAII consitantly or geting karakusas. even then, a good akuma is pretty nasty… and if you’re not getting karathrown, you’re getting off easy.

Jumping RH is pretty good and can nail him out of some of his moves if you time it right.

Might want to try choosing SAI and just punshing wiffed poked and baited DP’s.