Need Microphone Advice

Hello, everyone! I started producing an internet show where I have various competitive gamers talk about what they do, answer questions etc… All I record is the audio of the conversations onto my computer. The only problem is that I will often be having groups of people in the room (3-6 people) for each episode and I don’t have a microphone that will catch everyone’s voices and sound good. So, does anybody have any suggestions of what to go for or what to avoid? Or any other advice for recording this type of thing? Thanks a million in advance!

I have lots of experience in this.

In order to get a good sound in doing all of this, you will need to pay a little cash and learn a little bit of a program.

Software:
I highly recommend Adobe Audition as the program simply because it has great presets and is easy to work with once you get it going.
Use limiters and compressors. It’s under dynamics. You want to add a limiter/compressor to each track and then add one big compressor to the final mix so that all the volumes are as close as possible together.
Of course you can use other programs, I’m only suggesting this because it is very simple.

Hardware
Mixer with USB connectivity. This is the one I have and is straight forward…

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Alesis-MultiMix-8USB-Mixer-with-USB-and-DSP?sku=630166

Mics ! The industry standard is Shure SM57, but you can always go for cheaper things. Here is a suggestion…

Also, don’t forget mic stands, and decent headphones… you’ll want to hear all of the stuff you recorded through your headphones and edit and mix through them.

How to do it

Basically you connect all the mics into the mixer, connect the mixer into the computer through USB and you assign a track to each seperate microphone. That way everyone can have their own microphone and it will record to seperate tracks so you can adjust the volumes or adjust the settings.