Need some tips on countering rush game? (Noob)

Hey everyone, I was wondering if I could get some tips/pointers on countering my buddies rush game. I’m pretty new to street fighter, but have all the basics down pat and some of the advanced techniques. I typically use Blanka, Gief and Akuma. He uses Ryu and Ken, and personally I think he’s a scrub… Yet I’m the one asking for advice to beat him… heh. :wtf:
So his game is pretty much Jump + HK and the typical cross over combos with a DP at the end. Some times he’ll change it up with a cross over + grab. Blocking cross overs isn’t really a problem for me, its getting space. He closes in on me way too fast, and pretty much keeps me trapped, playing his game. I don’t have enough time to calculate my next move, or play a solid ground game… Hell even get up.
Anyways, if you have any tips I’d gladly like to hear them, and any info would be a great help. Thanks everyone.

Most Ryu’s only ever attack with fireball or jump kicks. Blanka - Electricity/roll Zangief - lariat and Akuma - Dragon punch to beat jump in. Also if its a matter of getting away Akuma can teleport, also if he does get in and start combo’ing just use throw, if he combo’s to DP you wont avoid getting hit anyway, at least if he tries to end in a throw you will reduce the damage a little by teching.I find you are sometimes better off to focus absorb and backdash cross up attempts rather than block. Take him out of his comfort zone.