Never been to a tourney

i was wondering how good you should be before you try to take part in a tournament? they’re always a couple hours drive from where i live so if im gonna get destroyed immediately i dont wanna waste the time driving up there

my roommate and i started playing this on ps2 about a year and a half ago and we played pretty much all day every day for awhile, looked up combos and videos on the inernet and got really into it. i was using sentinel/ironman/storm every time. after a couple months of that, school finished and we weren’t rooming together anymore so we both kinda stopped playing

now i really only play every month or so when im with friends and i dont practice combos or anything, but i can still rape everyone with sentinel/servbot/servbot LOL and if i pick my real time its even worse, although i kinda suck with storm now

any thoughts? btw if anyone is in austin, tx and wants to get together for a few games let me know

1st. If you’re able to find a dreamcast then get that and get a copy ov MvC2 cause it is arcade perfect and trumps the PS2 version all out.

2nd. You’re already doing this but I’ll stress it more, look up combo vids and recent tourney matches to see how the ‘opposition’ plays…then try to emulate how they play and sync that with your own playstyle.

3rd. Practice, practice, practice…in order to get better you’ll need to play against ppl that are at the very least good at the game…I’m not trying to say that the guys you’re playing now are complete n00bs (for everyone starts there and eventually rises to the top…depending on their determination) so it’s a start I guess…

4th. When you finally get into the mindset ov tackling tourneys go to them…local ones first obviously. In order to get better at the game you’ll first have to play as many ppl as possible and gain experience (sounds like a real life RPG to me). You’ll probably lose often but take it all in stride and use that knowledge to get better…