Never used Stick, should I go big on first one?

So I’ve never used an arcade stick before on a console, I’ve been using fightpads since their introduction. Now I’ve found myself wanting to make the switch to arcade stick. Now the question is, do I buy one of the cheap ones on ebay for $60? Or do I go buy a madcatz one for $160, but if im dropping that kind of coin, is the quality good enough, when I can drop another hundred or so and get a custom stick?

try to find a wwe stick.

I’ve been thinking about, they are cheap, but jesus are they hideous. Do you think if I buy that it will just leave me wanting to buy a new one though?

You can get a really good used stick from someone on this site for around 100. Much better than buying a 60 dollar POS. If you really want to spend a lot of money, I’d recommend a qanba stick, as their 150 dollar sticks come dual modded and the components are the same as the TE sticks.

go big.
then you won’t be tempted to give up on a $150 object.

Quality on TE is really good. They also have almost no pricedrop from new-used, so if you end up not liking it, you can always just sell it again.
You can also get one of the other stock sticks with Sanwa/Seimitsu parts. Eg spanish amazon offers new HRAP VX-SA for barely >100 €.

Go big.

I’d be looking at the (MadCatz) FightStick PRO, SoulCalibur TE, FightStick V.S., (Hori) VX-SA, V3-SA, SoulCalibur V arcade stick.

I didn’t go big on my first stick and I regret it. I got a SFIV SE stick back when they were still pretty hard to find. I upgraded everything to Sanwa and it was a decent stick, but I didn’t like the shape of the box or the weight, so I eventually picked up a TE. Had I just waited, I wouldn’t have been out the SE price ($80 I think) plus all my parts (I forget, but does $40 sound right?) in addition to the price of my TE.

I’m also a frugal person, so its more cost regret than anything else.