New Abel player and it's issues!

abel

Hi, I registered to this forum about 10 minutes ago - to ask a question. Old time fighting game fan, played online and realized I wasn’t as good as I thought.

I recently got SF4 on the 360 and obviously loving it - but I have a number of issues that I could use your help on - I main Abel and pretty much never touch any other character. I’m going with something I’ve never done before - to focus on one character. Hopefully I’ll ask questions other people also wonder. Anyways…

Issue 1!

After hearing that Abel is an incredibly effective rushdown character, which I’m adapting to. Which makes my head forget that, there is a defense. When I defend, I usually get guard-screwed somehow and shoryukened (because 90% of the matches are Ken anyways.) and I always forget that I can roll as well. Any way I could practice to get out of these situations?

Issue 2!

I’m having incredible problems timing openings in the defense - leading me to be very easily beaten once I’m on the defense. I know practice will help this, but anyway to give me a booster how to get back on the offense?

Issue 3!

I’m not the best player in the world, I’m using an 360 controller (I’m poor!) and, I wonder, is there some easier way to pull off TT’s? I’m having a horrible time trying to get them in - mostly I get them in through luck. How can this be improved? I mean, I can do Akuma’s red hadouken with ease, but this one is off by far. I usually end up doing c. sp/mp/hp FOLLOWED by a TT, which doesn’t work too well since I can’t reach them then - leaving me open.

Final Issue!

I’m having way big problems with comboing. I’m pretty much abusing j.mk c.mp c.o.d until they’re dead - hoping they don’t have brains. I have huge problems with focus cancels, because I’m mostly suprised that I pulled one off that I can’t follow up with anything.

Final Issue part. 2!

I forgot one thing. How the HECK does one beat Blanka? I’ve never beaten Blanka. Halp.