New Fighting Game website - Supporting the Community!

Just to give a quick introduction, Im a student majoring in Industrial design with a minor in Interaction design, and for my current interaction class (Information Architecture), i have to create a website that has a mass amount of information (competitive fighting games), and design a website that will be able to communicate and guide the user efficiently through the interface to find this information.

SO my question/concern is, would people want/like to have a website that people could go to quickly find information on whatever game they are interested in, and also find games that may relate to their interests.

Now the big different between SRK and this new website would be the sense of community. SRK is all about the community with the forums n such, but the website im currently designing would be more focused on data and information, a strategy guide for the SRK user persay. So as many of you know, im sure with the new users as well, finding information on solid data (will this work, is this good, etc) on SRK can be rough, but its there. So what I would do is compile all the solid information as it comes, create a graphic user interface that would visually help the user understand/find this information, and then be able to create a website that would guide the user to these elements. (in contrast with SRKWiki which doesnt do well at navigating/supplying these demands)