New-ish player seeking advice and ideas

So, I’m a returning SF4 noob, since I was pretty awful my first go around on pad. After years of playing competitive FPS I’m now looking to move into some fighting game competition and we’ll see how far I really get. I played a while on xbox live when SF4 first came out, then moved onto some more PC FPS competition.

With the help of a close friend (Contra) of mine who is also here at srk forums, I now have a stick and will begin again fresh. I tried my first go around on a madcatz fightpad but i found all it did was give me awful swamp palm and it became a physical block to playing with my fingers sliding all over and the frustration got to me after a while.

That being said, I do have Contra around to give me advice but I would like to hear from your guys also, as well as begin to get involved in the community. Beginning on a stick will be a “fresh” start for me. No bad habits engrained into my muscle memory yet.

With all this said, what characters would you recommend to begin on. Contra says Akuma might be good for me as I had a basic knowledge of shoto’s and enjoy a more aggressive style of play. What resources would you point a completely new fighting game player towards (There’s a TON on here, and it seems it can tend to be overwhelming to sort out the quality stuff for new players). What sort of training regime would you suggest for the most efficient and quickest strategy at improvement? Any basic stick usage tips and tricks? Muscle memory “drills” or anything of the sort? And any other things you guys can think of and would be willing to share would be appreciated. I look forward to meeting you guys and enjoying some matches.

An old but very good general tutorial about the game. Covers almoast everything including how to use a stick.
[media=youtube]1_nS5Jj3pHY[/media]
Noone can help you choose your character but Ryu is a solid character to learn the fundamentals.