New Joystick Maker and Video Game Business: Networkingyuppy

Hey folks, my name is Ben and I am currently a college student in NY. I live in NYC and I manage a storefront retailing in video games. We carry everything to everything, from imports, to old school games for game consoles like PS1 and even Snes games! Besides that, I’ve been running the store, along with my boss, and long time friend for 7 years now. Our store is called GamePAD inc, located in Brooklyn for you shoryuken’ers out there. We’ve got MvC2, A neo geo arcade for you KOF’ers out there.

To get to the point, I have been very active in the arcade scene for 10+ years now. I’m currently 21 years old, and I have seen alot of action on capcom fighting games. We have a couple of very good players in MvC due to many years of playing and practicing on the game.(I’m kickass with strider, but I still can’t pull off mags inf (argH!).

Anyways I have interested in designing my own arcade controllers and I have seen the work around here. To all the famous arcade makers(Big Pockets, Finkle, Byrdo, and all you people out there),I applaud you folks for inspiring me for designing my very own controller. After looking at numerous controllers here in the forums and joystick vault, I’ve decided to create my joysticks in plexiglass. Although plexi might not appear to be durable, I’ve managed to design a plexiglass case that will be durable and well stylish.

I’ve decided to start a business in making joysticks to pay off my debts from college(go figure) and also enjoy what I do. At the moment, I have designed these boxes myself. It’s my first time attempting to build a case and it does not seem to be perfect. I did not cut the plexi glass myself, I know a shop that does it and apparently the measurements were a bit short off. So far, I’ve built 2 cases so far, one is going to have a Bruce Lee background designed by me and a blank one, both a work in progress. Here are some pictures: