New Player - Is a stick worth it?

Hey everybody, I’m new to fighting games (tried my go at SF4, and now I’m playing MVC3) and I’m absolutely TERRIBLE. I’ve read a lot of the posts here on Tech Talk about sticks, and I think I may enjoy it, but I’m also low on cash.

The SF4 MadCatz one seems to be the cheapest one suggested here, but a lot of people say you have to mod it to make it good, which is actually quite expensive (The stick alone is $30 right now).

So do you think playing on a stick will help me get better compared to a dpad? I’ve been putting a lot of time trying to learn combos, but I usually just end up button mashing in the end and I get really frustrated with the controls when I fail to pull something off.

Do you think it’s just me, or will a stick help me improve my gameplay if I put in the time on it, and is it worth the ~$90 investment?

It’s really up to you. Considering you are new to fighting games, getting used to playing games would depend on what you used to learn it. I grew up playing fighting games on arcades (console fighting games didn’t exist in my time) so I learned to play on an arcade stick. I eventually got to playing them at home using a pad and have been playing on a pad for years. It was not until last year that I got to buy a TE that I played on a stick again so it was not much of a learning process since I had the skills, just had to get used to it again. As far as the difference between stick and pad, again it depends on you. I can do certain combos easier on the pad than on stick, but then I was able to complete a lot more in SFIV trials on a stick.

My advice, try out a cheaper SE first. If you like it and if you think you can go further, invest in a better one like a TE and the like. Some people never liked playing on a stick, and there’s nothing wrong with sticking to a pad. Some tourney players prefer a pad anyway.

I converted to a stick about a year ago and what I felt is this: