New Player - Kind of Embarrassed - Cannot complete Ryu Challenge #9

ryu

Hey guys

So, I’m brand new to SSFIV, and I’ve decided to start with Ryu, as I’ve heard he’s great for new players to begin with.

I am currently mixing it up between playing online and going through the challenges. For some reason, I cannot complete challenge #9.

It asks me (as part of the combo) to do a c.HP into Haduken. No matter what I do, no matter what timings I try, for some reason I cannot get this thing to work. I even went into training and turned on the action text, or whatever, so I could see my inputs. Everything looks fine there. I can do Hadukens all day long, if I am just standing. As soon as I add the c.HP (an uppercut), I can’t do it. It literally feels impossible. I watched a youtube video on the challenges, and his Haduken goes off almost as soon as the fist makes contact with the opponent. I tried that, but to no avail.

Obviously it’s me, and not the game. Any tips?

p.s I’m using a Mechanical Keyboard

Reference video

I don’t really know how to explain this in a technical step by step way. What you really have to do is try different timings until you get it. Once you have it, repeat it until you have it down before moving onto the next one. It would be best to get to where you can do it multiple times in a row.

Also I would buy an arcade stick or at the least a PS3 controller to use.

As long as I like this game, I was planning on saving up some $$ to get the $180 Mad Catz stick (this wouldn’t be an impulse buy, I want to make sure I enjoy the game enough first).

I the meantime, would you say that a PS3 controller is that much better than my keyboard? If so, I’ll go down to wally-world and pick one up right now :stuck_out_tongue: