New player/poster saying hello

Hey everyone.

I’ve been reading these boards for a few months now but I haven’t posted at all until today. Thought I would say “hi” to all the regulars here and introduce myself.

I live in Los Angeles, I’ve been playing Third Strike for about 2 years but only playing it seriously for 6-7 months. I’m a mediocre player at best but I love the game (it quickly cured my MMORPG addiction). My friends and I (there are probably 10-11 of us) all go to CalArts (for LA locals, it’s in Valencia, right by Magic Mountain) where we have a modded Xbox in an arcade cabinet that we play on.

I play Akuma mostly, but I’m trying to teach myself Q, and I used to play Dudley fairly seriously. Most of what I’ve learned has come from match videos and info on these forums.

Maybe someday I can convince some of my friends to go down to FFA with me and we can get our asses handed to us. Until then, you can just marvel at my noobishness, and maybe answer a question of mine from time to time.

Hello!

Dear Sir or Madam:

Hello. How are you?

You probably shouldn’t pick up Q. I don’t know if anyone told you, but he’s kinda not that good. Once you get to high-level play, the game evens out a bit and the differences between players using high and low tier characters aren’t as pronounced as they were when you and your comp weren’t as good, but it’s still considerably harder to win with Q than with most other guys in the game. That said, if you’re intent on using him, welcome to The Club, just be prepared to lose a crapload of games before you get decent with him. Check out the ol’ How-to Q thread in the Q forum for some info on picking him up.