New player with PP/BP issues

Hello. First of all, I checked for the official sf4 forum but google came up with this. I did a search of the coming question in varying ways but couldn’t find my question on the first few pages.

Here’s my situation:
I’m relatively new to online SSF4AE(2012) play. I’ve got my PS3 in a DMZ (did this after finding virtually no games online) and I play arcade mode with Match Invitation on to kill the time. Sometimes it takes up to 5-10 minutes to find a game, other moments a challenger appears straight away.
I found a character that I like (Abel), worked on his combos/links and I started winning a few games. I noticed that my BP and especially my PP stayed low. I then noticed I am losing PP while winning games. At first I didn’t mind since I’m new but I still get matched against people 2000+ PP while searching for equal skill players. I learn a lot from them and win from time to time so still, no problem there. Once I checked my stats however I noticed that I’ve ranked up to D+ around 3 or 4 times but the next game I was back to D. Finally I got “through” and then had to rank up 3 times to C to actually stick there. The old matches just got lost statswise. I could check the replay but instead of gaining points I just lost them. Once I did a search for this people just blamed the poster for being someone who disconnects when losing. I know I only DCed once in about the 250 games I played by now. Still, I checked my disconnect ratio and it says 12%(!!). Can anyone explain what is going on? My dc ratio should be below 1%. Instead I keep losing stats for no reason and I’m afraid people might just bail out in the lobby once they see my disconnect ratio.

Sorry for the wall of text, I hope it’s readable and in the right part of the forum.