New SSF4 player : How to find other players?

Hello,

I’m new to SF4. Even though I know the series for years I, only now, want to get serious with it. I choose a char that I like and having fun with and I looked up some guide or tips on the internet.
My big issue now is that… How to find players ? When I play online (SSF4AE) I find a player every 20min and the player is ridiculously experienced compared to me. (3 perfects in a row or almost…)
Then I live in Switzerland, this means that I won’t find any tournament or places where people gather to play fighting games…
Do you have any advice ? Some placed where I can find online player to play and train with ? Because I don’t learn much when someone perfects me tree time in a row without me being able to try anything except blocking.

Best regards,

rXp>!<

Hi rXp,

What system/s are you playing on?

host a tournament in your area. Advertise it at all the local game shops and on line, take down everyones contact info and start hosting weekly get togethers

I am playing on PC at the moment.
About hosting a tournament the idea is nice but finding people playing fighting game is harder than you think in Switzerland. Dota or CS (I played both but a team always has a flow) are more popular because more mainstream I guess.

I’m currently having a similar issue, except I live near an area where I know I could host a tournament (or at least get assistance in hosting one) and people would come. My issue is that I’m not sure I’m good enough for people to respect me as a TO. Is that ever a true concern? Also, how much goes into hosting a tournament (besides equipment and venue requirements)?