New to fighters what are good habits to learn

Hi SRK and thank you to all the people who read this. I am very new to fighting games but have loved watching fighting games for the past 4 years and trying to actually play them and hopefully start an FGC in my city. My Issue currently is as I practice I feel my timing is really really bad and my execution on certain things is very poor. A few examples would be messing up Plinks for SF4 combos (I can`t do anything in that game :frowning: ) My strings in MK9 and Injustice are almost always dropped and I see almost no improvement in myself with hours of practice in training mode. So what are good habits to learn to try and help myself improve my execution and damage within fighters.

And yes I do use a stick, a cheap one (PS3 HORI MINI) but it seems to work fine.

edit typos n stuff

limit practice sessions to 20 minutes per game per day. If you are not improving you are over-training. in each 20 minute session have a specfic thing you work on. Don’t worry if you do not suceed that day. Some of us learn slower. it took me 2 weeks to be able to land one of those doom combos that carry the opponet all the way across the screen :wink:

You’re not going to improve at all playing only 20 minutes per day. If you’ve got a few hours to kill and you want to get better, why not? Though I do agree breaks are important to give your mind some rest.

Anyway, to the OP, it seems you mostly want to improve your execution. That makes sense, because if you can’t at least do basic inputs, you’re going to have a hard time learning how to play properly. I assume you’ve read the [Execution Guide](SRK Newbie Saikyo Dojo Execution Guide (read me!) in this forum? Can you perform fireballs and shoryukens consistently?