New to Seth, wondering what gate most of you Seth vets use --->

seth

Hey all, I tried a Seth fourm search for “square gate” and “octo gate” and there were about only 2-3 posts total so sorry if this is a repeat thread.

I’m finally trying a secondary character, I main Bison but I feel that I’ve hit a plateau with him. I’ve always been amazed when I would get totally wtf pwned by another Seth player to the point where I wanted to learn how to play him. So here I am.

I started learning Seth a few days ago and my main problem is going from Cr.LK - Cr.LP - C.LP - C.MP XX Machine Gun Kick. I use a square-gate and this type of combo has always been a problem for me, its one of the main reasons I switched from Akuma to Bison.

I have trouble transitioning from Cr.MP into the QCB motion. This is where I’m curious as to which type of gate are you guys using. I have an octo-gate collecting dust in a box and I’m wondering if it would be better to use for Seth’s combos and moves.

I know it all comes down to preference and my preference for charge characters (mainly Bison and Chun) is with the square-gate. But when I first started learning Akuma I switched to the octo-gate to get certain moves down then switched back to square.

Anyhows I’m just curious, thanks for any insight.

So I had the EXACT same problem for awhile. What you need to do is after you start the combo (hit confirm), put the stick in the down-forward corner, that way when you execute the QCB, it will go from: down-forward, down, down-back, back.

That’s the easy way to do it, but as soon as you start practicing more, you’ll naturally know to keep the stick exactly down instead of waning towards one side for than the other.

P.S. Square Gate vs. Octo Gate arguments are useless in my opinion, you just need to see which one feels more natural for you and stick with it.

EDIT: Hopefully this helps!