New to Street Fighter Community, couple of questions

Hey guys. I’ve been playing street fighter since i was little, but I am new to the competitive community and I come from the Super Smash Brothers Melee Community. I was just wondering these few things.

Where is a place for me to find some tournaments locally. Is there a regional tournament forum to get people all in one area?

I was beasting on some scrubs in Hd remix in some ranked matches, and this one guy i fought was much better than the usual players I fight, so I changed my play style and became more aggressive to beat him. He then started cursing me out and said that i was tap throwing. What is that?

Lastly, which game should I stick with to be part of the largest community in the street fighter series?

Thanks alot, and I hope to play you all some day :slight_smile:

The tournaments section of this site is a great way to find tournaments. There isn’t a regional tournament forum, but it still isn’t too hard to find out what is available near you.

He was probably meaning to say you were “tick throwing.” A tick throw is when you put your opponent in block stun or hit stun, with an attack, and then throw him immediately after he recovers from stun and returns to a neutral state. It’s often seen when someone blocks an attack and a throw is timed for the moment they get out of block stun, and if they are still holding the block they get thrown. To a new person or a scrub it can look like you’re getting forced into being thrown, it can be beat by reversals among other things.

Also if you want to be part of the biggest Street Fighter community, now it would definitely be Super Street Fighter 4. With ~2000 people playing in EVO and tournaments popping up literally all over the place, it is by far the most popular tournament game in the series right now.

Welcome to the competitive community!