new to UMVC3

i just started playing fighting games over a month ago w/ umvc3 and i love it so much. i’m very competitive about the games i play and i want to get good. i practice everyday in marvel and i rarely go online, if i do its just to watch matches and pick up stuff. i’m having trouble blocking, i just dont really know how to practice it, also i been switching between teams alot and hoping for some advice. i’m a rush down player but i dont mind keep away at all. my top characters i like to play with are wolverine, hawkeye, strider, i would like any ideas on who will go good with this team and i dont want sentinel or wesker. i want to learn how to use storm and magneto but dont know where to learn.

I got no team building tips for you, but I say for blocking, It’s mainly either reacting or guessing right. Remember there are high and low attacks, High attacks are usually when they’re jumping/hitting from above and low blocks almost anything else. and there’s also blocking right or left. remember it’s always in the direction of the point character. There’s really no way to practice without a human helping you, because they are the only ones that can set up the situations which are hard to block, If you record using training mode, you know the pattern that’s being executed. You have to know what to look for etc. and one again, sometimes it is honestly just a guess.

There is a way around High/low mixups in UMvC3 though. Jump. For me it’s counter intuitive coming from SF2 because I’ve been told constantly, (and am still telling newbies, DON"T JUMP. but in UMvC3 it’s actually the reverse, since jumping removes high/low mixups. If you’re jumping, you either block left, or block right. that’s all.