Newbie here needs some help ^^

In every fighting game I play online I always get cornered. Every match, I usually start off by blocking. Am I playing too defensively and that is the reason this is happening? It doesnt happen offline against my friends or the CPU on any difficulty. Do you guys have any tips to keep me out of the corner or help me play more offensively? Also, if theres anybody who can play on PSN a few times a week with me so i can get better, I’d appreciate it. I usually play against my friends but they dont like fighting games so I don’t get any better ):

Ummm…don’t walk backwards all the time? I know that it sounds silly but I see that newer people playing SFIV are always anticipating attacks and hence doing it subconsciously. Unless its a jump in or an overhead attack, try blocking while crouching, your character will stay there instead of moving backwards when no attack happens. Attack offensively if you can, but don’t get overwhelmed by doing so, like jumping in all the time, a wrong step may put you in a situation that might screw up your game plan. And don’t consider your tactics with the AI a viable way to play against people online, trying to Lvl 3 focus attack your opponent will give them free hits. As all fighters do, you will get better over time. Try seeing replays of you battles online and see where your can improve, and take note:

-When did you get hit?

-Why did you get hit?

-How could you have avoided it better?

-What was the other guy doing when you did Block,/jump/attack?

-What did he do when you attacked?

And that is just among a few things that could help you improve. I wish you the very best

I think u r playing a bit scared because u don’t kno anything about ur opponent. U don’t do this against ur friends because u play them all the time so u kno how they play which changes ur mindset. Think how u play and what u do when u r playing ur friends and try 2 apply that 2 ur online play.