Newbie: Which if any of these have potential and what type are they useful in?

Okay I’m first getting into this game because I want to be able to beat Jebailey at something - I don’t like top tiers in any game so am wondering if any of these characters have potential to form a good enough team to play in tournaments. I don’t want to win or anything I just want to not look like a complete newbie.

Dhalsim
War Machine
Gambit
Felicia
OmegaRed
Captain America
Rogue
Iceman

don’t use iceman cuz a lot of people don’t like the ‘no-chip bastard’…

war machine is probably too much like ironman so he could be consider top tier but not really.

i think u should drop those 2 from your potential list.

rouge has been used in real fights… VDO use her. dhalsim is awesome with his pretty fast fly, his c.hk, and his drill. war machine is owned by ironman. war machine can’t do the basic, s.lp, s.lp, s.hk launcher. gambit can hold a AHVB down, if cable blocks his qcf+lp, AHVB can’t get off quick enough. he’s good in certain aspects, like that, but not overall… omega red can be brutal, but he’s hard to master, just like dhalsim, only sim/anakaris/magz can be used effectively… using red’s tentacles is alot based on psychic abilities and luck. felicia is decent… she’s fast and can dish out a ton of damage in the corner. america, i realy don’t use… i probably can’t get passed a basic air combo with him… iceman, like the above poster said, is chip king… no1 likes ppl that use him.

though iceman is a “chipping bastard,” if you use him well enough, i think some people will give you respect. don’t block everything, dont’ abuse his icebeam. play him effectively, and people really don’t have anything to say. most know that he’s a limited player, so if you can prove yourself, i (at least) will give you credit.