Newbies can't have fun in multiplayer?

Hello,

I’m a total newbie to fighting games in general and I decided to give a chance to MvC3.

I wanted to play with normal control as i think it’s more fun and give you more progression oportunities.
I watched SRK tutorials videos an read many stuff to understand the mechanics even if i don’t master them.
I played some solo game (3-4 hours) and decided to give a try to the multiplayer.

First thing is obviously players either are really good, or only play with simple control mode, so there is absolutely no way for me to have the slightest chance to win a match without using simple controls, as i just can’t pull off a special/hyper exactly when i want to (maybe 60-75% of the time but its way too low to hope winning versus someone who just push one button so have 100% chance). So i switched to simple control mode after 10 loss or so.

I totally excpected to lose the first 10 games as i really suck at the game. But there is a huge problem with matchmaking : I’m always matched with people WAY better than me even after 30+ matches. Im now 6win / 30 losses and i keep getting matched versus players with 100+ wins and 50 def or so. So i think the matching is totally random and there is no ELO rating or something to match people of similar skills.
What’s the point for me to play versus people with 70% win ratio when i have less than 20% ? Its not interesting at all for me nor for the opponent who almost perfect me all the time.

Maybe i just have to play solo 30+ hours before going online, but i will just not do this, as i want to practice and having fun when practicing.

I play mainly RTS (stacraft2 atm) and the matchmaking system match me with people of similar strength. It provides interesting matches and room to progress while having fun.

Am I missing something or is the game just designed to disgust new players ? Or maybe versus games are just not for me ?