Octogate orientation (stop sign?)

I’m thinking of building my first stick but I’m a total noob. Someone said that Sanwa octogates are oriented like an American stop sign, whereas the Seimitsu have the corners at the 8 compass points. What’s the truth?

I’m leaning towards LS-32 with octogate because I hear the dead zone ends right at the edge… I play a lot of Smash Bros. with the Gamecube controller so I thought this would feel the most familiar.

just get a square gate dude, trust me.

either works fine, but square gates are more standard, and they work fine. It just takes adjustment, and nothing is going to help sloppy execution other than just playing.

I was going to get both square and octo and see which I like better. The important thing is, I would hate the stop sign orientation if that’s what Sanwa has, so this affects my decision of which brand stick to buy.

Both Sanwa and Seimitsu Octagonal are oriented the same.
Not like a Stop Sign.

What is point of being like a Stop Sign when the corners are not in the correct position?
It would be super weird to play if was like that.

seimitsu ls-56 octo is another consideration. it’s more of a hybrid between a square and octo. also i thought the ls-32 was a round gate without corners?

What are the differences between the 32 and 56? I can’t tell from looking at Lizard Lick and Akihabara Shop.

That is right.
There is no Octagonal Main Guide for the Seimitsu LS-32(-01), just LS-56(-01).
Can also be used on LS-33 and LS-55(-01).

Seimitsu LS-32(-01) has Round Main Guide available.

Seimitsu LS-56(-01) has longer Shaft than LS-32(-01).
Harder spring on LS-56(-01) compared to LS-32(-01).

Thanks for the information. I guess the LS-56 sounds best now… I’ll see if I can design the control panel to mount either that or a JLF if I decide I hate the Seimitsu.

Which restrictor plate will I have to buy if I want an octogate for my SE fightstick?
(( still the stock Jlf))

thx :wgrin:

Sanwa GT-Y.