Official SF4 Tournament Rules and Such

I’m new to the competitive Street Fighter 4 rules and whatnot (don’t have the game yet), so I was hoping someone could help me out.

• Do most people use the GamePad or the Arcade Stick?

• Can you use a regular controller and still do well, or does it actually put you at a huge disadvantage?

• If I were to use a regular controller, what do I need to change about it’s button configuration in order to make it tournament legal?

• Are specials banned? Like, in Guilty Gear they banned the instant kill specials or w/e they’re called, so I was wondering if there’s anything like that for SF4.

That’s all I have for now I spose. Thanks alot.

-Stick
-depends how good you are
-nothing
-no.

When did they ban the instant kills in Gear? I never saw that at a tournament. If you were dumb enough to try for one and miss then you were at a HUGE disadvantage the rest of the fight. and if you got hit with that move you can see coming from WAY in advance you deserved to die

i’ve placed high in mvc2 tourneys using dreamcast pad. i know several top players also use dc pad. it’s preference.

[quote=“NotTooBad”]

I’m new to the competitive Street Fighter 4 rules and whatnot (don’t have the game yet), so I was hoping someone could help me out.

• Do most people use the GamePad or the Arcade Stick?

[Quote]

Stick

[Quote=NotTooBad]

• Can you use a regular controller and still do well, or does it actually put you at a huge disadvantage?
    [/Quote]

If you can execute 99% of your moves on a pad, then you aren’t at a disadvantage. A stick simply make certain movements and motions easier. If you can become good on pad, then by all means use it

Some tournaments don’t allow button mapping. Also controllers that can play macros are illegal in tournamnets for obvious reasons.