Old games worth playing? (cvs2 and super turbo)

Hey guys! I play a bunch of SSF4 and I love the game but to me I just play it to pass time. I probably wouldn’t go out of my way to go to tournaments. However, a game like CvS2 or Super Turbo I’d definitely be down for it. The problem I’m sort of facing is though, do these sorts of games even have any form of life anymore? I have been playing ST and CvS2 by myself for the last 2-3 months or so. I’ve never even owned a stick and I’m actually going to go out of my way to get one for these games. It’s going to be a bit of a bummer if I never get to go to a CvS2 tournament because I believe it’s just an amazing game all around plus all the hours I spent watching tournament videos, training mode, learning combos and characters would feel kinda like a waste.

Also I live in the New York area and I’ve heard a lot about the next level arcade. Anyone know if they have CvS2 there? or any Super turbo tournaments? I’ve done a little research and it seems as if they have an event once in a blue moon with CvS2. Maybe I should just keep my eyes glued to their events page or something lol.

ST is alive and kicking I know, I doubt it will ever truly die out, there’s been ST revivals at EVO and there’s been ST at some of the major tournies leading up to EVO. ST and CvS2 forums are still active, and people play ST on GGPO. I’ve seen an ST cab on cam at Next Level so I’m sure people play it (Arturo of teamspooky will stream GGPO ST tournies sometimes).

As for CvS2 you’d would have to ask around if anyone at Next Level if they know of anyone that plays CvS2 and go from there (I know Min of teamspooky loves CvS2). I know LionX of levelup in norcal still uploads japanese tourney vids of cvs2. youtube.com/watch?v=iJULfZcqWbg

Hope I helped.

Play 3rd Strike.

It’s a good game.

I kinda have a love hate relationship with 3S haha.

Thanks a lot Zx-tole! That info really did help a lot!