Old Skooler Needs Help getting up to date!

OK, long story short, I used to help run an arcade back in the early 90’s. I’m out of Chicago, so our site got to field test Midway and some Capcom games. We had some really, really excellent players, of which I’d like to think I could include myself.

Well, now it’s been 15 years since I touched a fight game. I’m building myself a hardwood fight stick from scratch (I’m a decent woodworker), and I’m looking for what fight games I should get into. Keep in mind, when I played, we had MKII and MKIII was being tested at Midway, and SFII Turbo was the hot game. So I’m really out of it today, and trying to wade through the forums is a bit overwhelming.

I stopped by a Best Buy last night since I had a gift card for my birthday, and when I asked for fighting games, they tried pushing MMA games on me. Obviously I was in the wrong place asking the wrong questions.

So what games should I pick up today? I saw two or three different versions of Street Fighter on the shelf, and the new MK (9?).

I’m looking forward to getting into fighting games again. I don’t think I’ll be able to get up to the level I was back in the day when I bumped elbows with Chicago’s best players, and I really doubt I’ll be competing, but I really want to fight again!

Sad side story: I stopped by Galloping Ghost in Brookfield, IL the other night (midwests largest arcade), and hit up the MKII and Streetfighter II; I could still rock Blanka pretty decently, but I was completely worthless in MKII. I couldn’t remember any combos and my timing was way off. It pains me, especially considering I used to be able to get to the last fight in MKII using only the block button the whole game. I miss those days.

So guys and gals, what games does this old skooler need to jump into to learn to rock modern fight?