On Being A Funknewbious Fighter

I’ve been a long time fan of fighting games but I’m not very good at any of them. I basically collect the games and leave them on my shelf. The last game I really really played was (Night Warriors: Darkstalkers Revenge for the Sega Saturn.) No more of that. I want to get good at least a couple of them so I’m not wasting my money. I manage to put down a good 40 minutes to an hour practice on SSF4 AE and I am horrid, horrible, insufficient, inconsistent, lacking, and I have no skills. So I’m asking what are some strategies people here use to train?
My first problem is consistency in moves. -> Training mode and working out the moves I can Shoryuken from one side of the stage to the other but not perfectly and not in a pinch.
Second problem: emotional mashing. How do I defeat the urge to TAPTAPTAP just to get a move out? What do the pros do?
Third problem: Timing issues. I don’t know the timing for any of these strange combos I have seen posts that criticize games for presenting a combo that only works in the corner but doesn’t clue you in. Seems Tough,
Fourth problem: Lingo, Jargon, Slang… I heard people saying weird things about a BlazBlue match at EVO and I have no idea what’s a 6P or 2H or whatever number-letter combination means. Can anyone point me to an online glossary or something?
Thanks for reading I hope it wasn’t too long.

I’m pretty new to competitive play, myself. Here’s my advice.

For your first problem: Practice, practice, practice. Execution takes time. Go through the challenge mode (or whatever it’s called in SSFIV) with a character and do them all. If you get stuck, look it up on YouTube or, you know, ask. Practice until you can do the moves and combos easily and consistently. It’s just going to take time.

Second problem: I’m not really sure what “emotional mashing” is. Just work on your execution, I suppose. You’ll get more comfortable as you get more proficient.