Oni Strategy: kahmos edition

oni

Okay, so with quite a bit of online play, and theory, I have this as my first impression for Oni: Strategy.

Oni is a fundamentals character, with high damage, unsafe moves, and great mobility and zoning to trick your opponent to fall into big damage.

Ive been playing fundamentals style Gen, for 2 years. He has low health, and a swiss army knife of normals, his combos are gimmicky, and his good combos are really difficult to execute. So Ive always played defensive, and I mean, I know all of Gens matchups, and what normals he has that beat theirs, MOST of the time.

Its not a execution heavy strategy, but it does require constant focus and mixup to hit your opponent back effectively, and as Gen has weak combos, low health, and really gimmicky tricks, in comparison to Oni… Oni seems to have small but STRONG combos, medium health, and really ambiguous mobility, with mixup mobility in the air.

Oni has the tools for all kinds of defensive tactics in his normals and special normals for movement, such as F+HP swipes, stomp, and especially air dash, which by the way, not only hits opponents where his hand flashes, but can cancel a projectile on hit*

He has excellent and hard hitting anti airs, aside from shoryuken, fierce and cr.fierce, all too easy to use to poke people out, even F+HP at the start of a fight will stop a projectile and punch them in the face (not juri, but think it worked on ryu/ken so far)

Ive been zoning people out quite a bit with electric balls, and waiting for empty jumpins for ex swipe into F-HK which knocks the opponent into the other corner behind you for more zoning. But this is dependent on timing and weather or not they are landing with a hitbox extended to be hit by.