Online gaming via DSL and Cable

Hey guys, I’ve been gaming online via DSL for a few years now. I absolutely hate it. I get tons of lag spikes and the lag in general sucks. Nothing is more infuriating than roll backs and your character not responding even though you can hear the loud click of a microswitch push button. My DSL is VDSL2 which has an interleave which adds on average 21 ms of ping on top of the usual ping you get. So, instead of having a first hop of 8 ms, I get 29 or so on average. I notice I get a lot of input delay yet my opponent is busting out finely timed reversals and I can’t even get a simple poke to come out right. How can it be so lopsided? And, today, for no reason, my online gaming experience was pretty much a lag fest in sub 100 rooms. No reason for that at all. My provider is Qwest DSL and I’ve read recently that they have been struggling with bandwidth because they’ve been over selling and their network can’t handle all the new customers. I didn’t used to have this problem 2 years ago, and since their services have become almost sinfully cheap.

On top of that, they haven’t updated my modem’s firmware in over a year and it still can’t enforce MAC address approvals even though the option is there. Who knows what else is messed up in that firmware?

I was thinking about switching, but there really aren’t any alternatives. I can go to cable, and the only provider here is Comcast. I haven’t read much positive feedback about them, though. Their service packages are relatively similar in price once you get past the new customer grace period of both cable and DSL for about the same up/down stream. However, the main thing is, there is no interleaving on a cable connection so my first hop should be lower around 8 ms and Comcast has a bigger network infrastructure in the USA than Qwest.

So, how many of you game on DSL and how many on Cable? Have you gamed on both? Which do you prefer if you have?

DSL = Damn Slow Line.