Option select tomahawk

t-hawk

I’m rather new to the option selects. I know what they are but havent completely integrated them into my gameplay just yet. I just recently picked up hawk and was wondering if a tomahawk option select is a viable option for t. hawk against jumpers. I havent seen any forums discussing this so i’d like to know.

No there are none for jumpers. You can option select his Tomahawk off a safe splash (after a lp SPD) and it will work (EX version deals with even more stuff - check the last few pages of the lab thread), but you need to Tomahawk on reaction if someone jumps up or back. Consider that Ryu has no option select for people jumping away or up and his dragon is 3 frames with more invincibility, so Hawks with 5-8 frames is a no go.

The only way I know to option select Dragons is off safe jumps full stop (you need a window for the inputs). Furthermore, on the ground you can’t option select a DP off any of Hawks close light or medum normals as they are pretty much all special canceleable and off his HP or HK you will will be pushed too far away for it to be useful.