Option Selects

Hey guys,

I’m still a beginner at fighters and just learned about Option Selects. I main Ryu and I’ve been trying to do option selects with him but they just don’t work. I practice in training and the buffered move always comes out regardless if the person is blocking or if they get hit.

I’m just trying out the j.m, dp, with a l.p. I never just land with the lp but always go to the dp. I’ve tried watching the VesperArcade tutorials but it still doesn’t make sense to me. I jump buffer the DP then do the l.p but iunno what’s wrong.

Also are there any good tutorials for safe jumps too?

Thanks

Why dont you try simpler option select like block + throw? See if you can do that consistently. You just jump, sweep, stand above opponent and grab or punch/sweep. If its a grab, the option select rejects it. If its a low attack, you block it. If high attack, youll c.LK it. Very basic option select.

Safe jumps usually require precise jump distances and must hit on the first frame. You may not be timing it properly. Also,w ith Ryu, OS safe jumps are different for variety of characters. Like with Sagat, you only have the os of j.HP and block. if he tries to AA with Hk, you beat it and can combo. If he tiger uppercuts, you will land and cancel the j.Hp into block because it will hit on first frame and recover before the tiger uppercut becomes active, allowing you to block, thus making it safe. He blocks, hes in blockstun, but im not positive on ryus options after that/how safe on block it is (dont main ryu).

Also, because of strict timing (if you are late, they can SRK or otherwise counter your “safe” jump), you cant usually time your hit to land on the first frame of their recovery, which can affect how safe it is/what options they have. Usually only good on unrecoverable knockdowns for starting out (throws, ultras), though can do them most anytime if you master the timing/situational awareness.