Pad hacking, absolute noobie help

Hi all. I’m curious about pad hacking. From what I’ve gathered, the theory behind it is you soldier the buttons that lead to the buttons and stick of your fight stick to the button inputs on a gamepad. So, by this logic, I could take an off brand PS3 controller and use the PCB in an Xbox360 SE, right? If that’s the case, how would I go about doing this? I can’t find a diagram for my pad’s pcb.

this is the pcb:

I don’t doubt that I’m completely wrong about this, it seems too easy, and also, this pcb is giving me a hard time, the button are marked, but i don’t know where to begin.

Obligatory slagcoin referral, it has everything you need to know there

Joystick Controller - PCB and Wiring

golden rule comes first
is the pcb common ground?
test that first with the usb ground and the ground for all the buttons and see if they all connect.
If not you’re out of luck.

read up on the topic of soldering/padhacking in nerrage’s dual modding 101 thread or slagcoin’s pcb wiring section here - Joystick Controller - PCB and Wiring

edit: ninja’d by funkyB =(

How would I go about testing for common ground? I’m completely new to this, sorry for the dumb questions.

You’ll need a multimeter to do that. I said how to test for it up in the previous post there. Its just a connectivity test to see if all the grounds for all your buttons/directions work.

either that or search what brand of controller that is and the model number on srk and see if someone tested it if it was common ground already

See chapter 6, there’s a padhacking section. Also, pretty much most of the info for dual modding and such is here, too. http://shoryuken.com/f177/dual-modding-101-a-262969/

But that PCB appears to be common ground. I’d need a better picture of the traces, but that’s what it looks like to me.

Thanks for all your help. I’ll get cracking on this tomorrow after my classes are out, and let you know how it goes. Thanks again