[PC]Keyboard or Arcade Stick?

Hello everyone,this is my first post in SRK. I’m really confused about what to do…k …I think I should go back a li’ll.People (my online friends :expressionless: ) don’t know me as a fighting gamer bcz I play FPS games like BFBC2,COD4 when I’m online, but I have been fighting game fan since I started playing games.So,that means 8/9 years. Anyway, I started playing fighting games on PC with MK4 and I was a good player in my area, but the problem is, I used keyboard (num pad for kicks,punches,run,block etc. and arrow key for direction).Now, I can’t switch to gamepad.I’ve been playing SF4 (offline) with my friends and they all use gamepad but I can’t use gamepad as I’m used to playing on kb. Even though I don’t play with characters like zangief or hakan, but after buying SFIV AE, now I wanna try more advanced techniques and wanna do chains and links but I can’t do 'em.I tried switching to gamepad but I play even worse on gamepad.Now, I’m thinking about buying Arcade Stick.Now,is it worth it ? I mean, should I buy arcade stick? or is it just me that can’t do chains and links (but I can do fadc to ultra though) . I mean, will buying arcade stick make me a better player or I can do those advanced moves on keyboard too ?

thanks (and sorry for long post)

You can in theory do the advanced stuff on a keyboard, but many keyboards limit the maximum number of simultaneous keypresses allowed, which can create issues for some techniques in the long run.

What do I suggest? Get a Hitbox - you get to keep the “buttons only” style you’re used to, and also be able to use the same controller on consoles (assuming you get a dual system PS3/360 hitbox) as well.

Yeah, I’m starting to vouch for the hitbox, too.
The main issue I found when I switched to a stick was doing fast movements with good precision, and doing a QCF on a stick just isn’t as easy as it is on keyboard.