Photoshop Template Help

Hi,

I just started to get into the whole Fight Stick Modding Scene. I’m trying to design a template for my fight stick (Hori Fight Stick 3 for PS3) and I’m having troubles designing it in Photoshop CS.

I have the button layout that was provided in the Fight Stick 3 Modding Thread, with the outline of the metal board. My problem is when I’m designing my own image, how do you copy where the exact button and joystick placement is from the outline that was provided and paste it in the same spot on the new image? So what I want is my image with the buttons and joystick holes showing up on it. Do I have to add a layer or so? But how do I put the holes in the exact spot as from the outline?

Also for the edges of the outline, how do I copy that exact same edge format (it’s not perfectly rectangle) with my new image, how would i crop it so?

I’m a noob to photoshop and editing so please help

I don’t know personally, as I’m learning how to use Photoshop at the moment. Take a look in the Image Mishmash forum as there are stickes with links for photoshop, may see sometihng of aid there. Hope this helps.

I personally prefer laying things out in Illustrator, but it really is a matter of preference.

For PS, you can use the circular marquee to make a 24mm and 30mm circle for the holes you are looking for. To do this:

1. Make a new layer. Title it “Circles” or something so you’ll know which one you’re working on instead of the original.

2. Select the Circular Marquee tool (click and hold on the square marquee until the little menu pops up to the right, then click the circle).

3. Look at the top bar where it says “Style”. Find “Fixed Size” in that little dropdown menu and input your sizes (24mm and 30mm) into the Width and Height boxes to the right of the dropdown menu.

4. Click anywhere in your art board and a 24mm/30mm circle will appear!