Picking game up; is Juri a difficult choice of character to learn the game with?

I tried getting into this game about three years ago as a Bison player, but never got anywhere since I had very little time to play then.

I just got Ultra, and I seem to have lost my taste for charge characters. Out of the current cast, Juri is the one that seems the most interesting to play (her and Evil Ryu, but I’ve heard the consensus is that Evil Ryu is broken, and I tend to avoid broken characters). Is she a particularly challenging choice of main, or a good match for a complete beginner?

Note: I’m not new to fighters generally, I’ve just always played air dashers in the past (current game is Blazblue I play Arakune/Relius, if anyone familiar with both games can use that info).

If you’re comfortable with execution in air-dashers, I don’t think Juri would be over your head.

The best character to play is the one that you have a ton of fun playing as because that’s what helps give you motivation to practice and play a lot, and even the easy characters need a lot of work to get good at. It’s just a smaller lot.

Evil Ryu isn’t broken, just solid and strong, just like Juri is. Juri is admittedly a bit unusual, and Evil Ryu’s optimal combos can be hard, but basic combos with Evil Ryu get you far and after you get used to Juri’s button-hold stuff, both Evil Ryu and Juri are nice, solid, strong characters that reward strong fundamentals. If you have fun with them, play them. They’ll do good for you.

Another question, and this one feels exceptionally stupid:

I can’t seem to charge Focus Attacks. Holding down MP/MK in training mode shows as MP/MK>MK>MK>MK>MK… on the input section. This doesn’t happen with other fighters (I can charge a Crush Trigger in CP just fine). I’m using a Hori V3-SA, if it might be the stick. I don’t seem to remember this being an issue last time I tried the game in 2011.

^ you might have turbo on?